CTFD appoints first paid Fire Chiefs

From reports

History was made Monday as Columbia Township Trustee Matt Minier appointed the first two paid Chiefs for Columbia Township Fire Department.

Fire Chief Shane Caudill and Deputy Chief Jake Schrader were sworn in to continue to lead CTFD as part-time paid fire chiefs. The Chiefs will continue to work day to day ensuring CTFD meets and exceeds service requirements and provides the highest level of service to its citizenry.

In addition to the paid chiefs positions, additional money was approved and budgeted by the Columbia Township Board and Trustees in 2024 for firefighter stipends. For decades CTFD firefighters have received a minimum annual stipend (clothing & vehicle allowance) for their work, but this provides them an opportunity to see an increase in their annual stipend depending on their level of participation.

In addition to Caudill and Schrader, Tim Acres (also a CTFD firefighter) was sworn in as the Township Sexton, overseeing cemeteries, and Denise Esterline was sworn in as the Township Clerk.