Columbia City government makes history with women’s majority in leadership

Council officials sworn in Monday

(The Hoot News photo provided)

Continuing a long tradition, Columbia City officials were officially sworn in for the new terms on New Year’s Day at noon in the Whitley County Courthouse. Judge Matthew Rentschler conducting the ceremony. And, officially, it became a historic moment for the City of Columbia City as women now serve in the majority of leadership roles.

Above, from left, are Lisa Smith (appointed to the Board of Works for 2024-2028); Leslee Robinson, Columbia City Councilwoman – Northwest District; Jennifer Zartman Romano, Columbia Councilwoman – Southwest District; Columbia City Mayor Ryan Daniel; Columbia City Clerk Treasurer Rosie Coyle; Tad Varga, Columbia City Councilman – Northeast District; Jenny Reffitt-Middleton, Columbia City Councilwoman – Southeast District; and Dan Weigold, Columbia City Councilman – At Large and Board of Works representative.

The new administration is making history as women are serving in the majority of leadership positions on the council and in city government. Veteran councilwomen Jennifer Zartman Romano and Jenny Reffitt-Middleton will be joined by newly-elected councilwoman Leslee Robinson. Other women serving in leadership roles include Rosie Coyle as Clerk Treasurer and Lisa Smith on Board of Works.