City government rallies in support of candidates

(The Hoot photo) Incoming and outgoing candidates representing the City of Columbia City gathered last night in observance of the 2023 Columbia City Municipal General Election, celebrating the victories of Mayor Ryan Daniel and Councilwoman Jennifer Zartman Romano. From left is Mayor Ryan Daniel, retiring Northeast District Councilman Walt Crowder, Northwest District Councilman Tad Varga, Southwest District Councilwoman Jennifer Zartman Romano, Southeast District Councilwoman Jenny Reffitt-Middleton, At Large Councilman Daniel Weigold and incoming Northeast District Councilwoman Leslee Robinson. The 2024 Columbia City Council will make history with the first-ever women’s majority.